Carbon County Office of Planning & Development (OPAD)

Administers Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program for County and Five Entitlement Communities - Borough's of Jim Thorpe, Lehighton, Mahoning Township, Palmerton, and Franklin Township. Administers County-Wide Housing Rehabilitation Program. County Coordinator for Recycling & Solid Waste. Administers County Farmland Preservation Program. Provides technical support to County Planning Commission - Reviews all Sub-division and Land Development Plans in County. Source for Various Information and Data Relative to Carbon County.

Additional Information:

County Planning Commission meets on the 3rd Tuesday of Each Month - 2:00 pm at 44 Susquehanna St. , Jim Thorpe PA 18229. Plans to be reviewed must be submitted to OPAD at least 10 days prior to the meeting.

Any bid package pick up and sub division/land development plan drop off/pick up will be by appointment only by calling 570-325-3671.

Click the logo to go to the Fair Housing Program website.


Contact Carbon County Planning & Development

Office Location

410 Center Ave, 1st Floor
Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-0210

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 210
Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-0210

Phone (570) 325-3671
Fax (570) 325-3303
Office Hours 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Director David Bodnar